Women? Cars? Keep ’em far apart!

I’ve been reading Car and Driver since before I even had a learner’s permit. Over all, while it is a bit of a boy’s club kind of mag, I’ve always found them to generally be safe, sane, and consensual. For a topic (cars) that is generally so rife with sexism, I’ve enjoyed C&D’s intelligent, misogyny-free attitude.

Too bad I can’t say the same for their advertisers.

In case you can’t read what it says, it’s an ad for spark plugs, which has a nice big “MAN TIP” across the top: “Don’t think of changing your spark plugs as a chore. Think of it as 20 solid minutes of doing something your wife has absolutely no interest in.”

Well, I think I can tell you what brand of spark plugs I won’t be purchasing any time soon (it’s Autolite, btw).

I wish someone had told me that my vagina meant I couldn’t do things like change a tire, understand how my car works, or, heaven forbid, be interested in changing spark plugs. I forgot–shoes don’t have spark plugs, so how could I possibly be interested?

Well, fuck you, Autolite spark plugs. You are idiotic assholes.

08/25/2008. Tags: . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Paul replied:

    Hiya!
    Cruised on over here from Tocchi’s LJ. Just wanted to mention that I can change spark plugs if I need to, as well as brakes and oil changes and stuff, but I don’t WANT to, I have no DESIRE to. Am I less of a man because I’m not interested in engines and homoerotic sports?
    Maybe, but fuck it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

