Books!

Oh man. I think I almost peed myself a little watching this:

I haven’t read Jane Eyre, and Wuthering Heights really aggravated me (Heathcliff is a violent, unhinged man, and Catherine has some abusiveness issues) but I dig the Brontes for what they represent in the great literary world. My personal favorite trailblazing lady author is Virginia Woolf, though. Orlando is a brilliant subversion of traditional gender roles and sexuality, and no matter how you look at it, Mrs. Dalloway is beautifully written.

Anyways, I hope when I get my master’s degree, part of the process is learning how to turn into a giant dinosaur to smash the boys only literary clubhouse. I’m probably going to need that when I start teaching.

05/07/2010. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. scott replied:

    I know that no one ever reads anne bronte’s books, but tenant of wildfell hall does a great job skewering the violent yet inexplicably attractive men in Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, and is a wonderful book besides.

    Only problem is how seldom book stores carry it (a whole shelf of Charlotte and Emily, but maybe one volume of anne, if you’re lucky. it’s sad)

    • Cuppy van der Cake replied:

      I’ve never had the opportunity to read any of Anne’s books–now I am definitely going to look into it; they sound great! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

